09 Jan 2009

The chair of the board of Norske Skog will not stand for re-election

On 8 January, the chair of the board of Norske Skog, Kim Wahl, informed the election committee that he will not stand for re-election as chair of Norske Skog's board.
"Norske Skog has carried out a number of important measures during his time as chair of the board. I regret that he will not stand for re-election, but respect his decision. I also appreciate Kim Wahl making this announcement well in advance of the general meeting, enabling the election committee to carry out a thorough process," says the chair of the corporate assembly and the election committee in Norske Skog, Tom Ruud.
Norske Skog's board members are elected for a period of one year. Wahl was elected chair of the board in April 2007. He will continue to function as chair of the board until the corporate assembly elects a new board following the company's ordinary general meeting on 23 April 2009.
"I have had two exciting and educational years as the chair of the board of Norske Skog. We have implemented comprehensive reorganizations and major cost reductions. The company's financial position has been improved through substantial debt reduction and Norske Skog is better equipped for future challenges. My decision not to stand for re-election is exclusively based on a need to spend more of my time on other commitments," says Kim Wahl.
The election committee's recommendation for a new chair of the board as well as other candidates for the board and corporate assembly of Norske Skog will be announced prior to the general meeting. The election committee of Norske Skog consists of Tom Ruud (chair), Otto Søberg, Ole H. Bakke and Henrik A. Christensen.
Oxenøen, 9 January 2009
Norske Skog
Corporate affairs
Kim Wahl and Tom Ruud will be available for the media on Friday morning. Interviews can be scheduled with vice president corporate affairs Tom Bratlie on telephone +47 905 21 904 or e-mail tom.bratlie@norskeskog.com.